Shedding on propecia N00b

glaxo

Reaction score
So I currently have fairly thick hair maybe a fivehead but one wouldn't be able to tell that I've been shedding fairly heavily for the past 6 years. I want to start propecia but I don't want to make my hair look worse for the next year. I'm coming on a sensitive period med school wise and want to maintain this for that time.
So I guess my question is, is it likely I look noticeably different, even for a short time, with a typical shed?
How long have these shed changes lasted for you guys when you were just starting?
Should I just man up and start before it gets too late?

ryan r

Established Member
Reaction score
Man up. Theres not much more to it, no one can say what will happen. But most likely it will do your hair good.

hbdale309

Reaction score
Use Nizoral and minoxidil b/c that shed period is short. This combo has kept my hair from falling out anymore and has grown back plenty. I've heard that finasteride can shed for a year, but you could get lucky and have a shorter finasteride shed.

To be safe, I'd use the nizoral and minoxidil, then when your sensitive period is over and you can afford a possibly longer shed - then add the finasteride.

Or just roll the dice; who knows you may not shed at all w/ finasteride.

glaxo

Reaction score
hbdale309 said:
Use Nizoral and minoxidil b/c that shed period is short. This combo has kept my hair from falling out anymore and has grown back plenty. I've heard that finasteride can shed for a year, but you could get lucky and have a shorter finasteride shed.

To be safe, I'd use the nizoral and minoxidil, then when your sensitive period is over and you can afford a possibly longer shed - then add the finasteride.

Or just roll the dice; who knows you may not shed at all w/ finasteride.