Side Effect Of Finasteride Or Permanent Balding?

qztwn

Reaction score
So I noticed thinning temples and decided to go to my Doctor. My hair were perfect, no shedding other than the fact that there was visible thinning on the temples. I was prescribed finasteride. I started my dose around mid of december 2015.
Twelve days later my hair started coming off. So I stopped finasteride immediately. I hoped the shedding would taper off in a few months. It's June 2016 now and the shedding is still on and now my scalp is visible when I lift my hair. My hairline has been destroyed too and can no longer style my hair up like Ross Geller. Have to go with the flat emo-style hair to hide the widow's peak as well as the thinning frontal hair.

So will this ever stop or slow down or has the dosage permanently speeded up the balding process? Anyone with similar experiences?

Spellbinder

My Regimen
Reaction score
I am not a pro at this yet like most of forum users here are who are 1+ year on finasteride already. But I think you should have sticked to it for longer period of time, 12 days is nothing.

Kevand

Established Member
Reaction score
You should give a treatment 6 months to fairly evaluate the effectivness and 1 year to fully evaluate it as a treatment. At least give it 3-4 months. This is due the nature of the hairfollicle biology.
There are alternatives to finasteride that can help you. Read the forums ans see what fits you in term of convenience, time, money and side effects.

Here are some treatments that are considered safe
nizoral
alfatradiol
Stemox

Kevand

Established Member
Reaction score
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/17451383
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3412238/