Somebody push me

Failing Follicles

Reaction score
Hello my balding brothers

I'm new to all of this but hope you'll bear with me despite the fact you've probably heard it all before. Mine is the usual story: began losing my beautiful, thick and glossy hair at 20, discovered Toppik aged 25 and spent the next four years choking on an increasingly thick cloud of the stuff in an effort to cover the thinning as my hair continued to desert in disloyal droves. I know much success is written about finasteride but I've read the stories of impotence and Lord knows what else - no thanks. Anyway 8 months ago the Toppik had to stop as I'm by now a definite NW6 with a gleaming, shiny head so in a fit of madness I switched to a "system" (why do they call them that? It's a bloody wig, end of) which has been the worst mistake of my life - despite doing my homework, getting a top quality unit and a great stylist, half the time I still look like there's a small furry rodent glued to my head and have discovered all the horror stories about sideways glances, smirks, paranoia, colour / blend difficulties and hours in front of the mirror to be true.

I'm so pissed off with the stupid thing that I'm almost at the stage where I bin the rodent (or burn the damn thing, even better) and shave my head. Trouble is I've tried this before and discovered I look worse than Uncle Fester on a bad day - my skull's all knobbly and there are huge moles everywhere (remember the Ferengi in Star Trek?!). However after 8 months of living under the dead rat (it's not living though is it? It controls you and everything you do) I reckon the Ferengi look is the lesser of two evils and I just need a little push to pluck up the guts to be rid of this ridiculous, vain attempt to hold on to my youthful appearance and take my life back.