Steve Jobs versus Bill Gates

Belmondo

Established Member
Reaction score
I have to give a lesson on technological innovations, so I've been doing some research on the life and work of Steve Jobs. He's a fascinating character but how does he compare to his eternal rival Bill Gates?

One thing's for sure: Jobs was a much better speaker than Gates. Those presentations of his were fantastic and very entertaining. And, more importantly, everytime he presented a new product, he caused a revolution; Microsoft, by the contrary, doesn't seem too keen on taking chances.

And the second big question: will Apple survive without Steve Jobs? The new iPad3 is wonderful but it is hardly 'resolutionary'. As far as I can tell, it's just an iPad2 with better screen resolution and 4G.

HughJass

Reaction score
Will you teach your students about how they both got filthy rich from slave labor and a lot of atrocious corporate behaviour? If I was a teacher I would never miss an opportunity to get on my soapbox like that!

As far as innovation is concerned apple stuff is just overpriced blingy consumer junk. People seem mesmorised with it. What is it an iPad can do which wasn't possible before? There's nothing really new happening there.

Ray Kurzweil has some pretty cool ideas and achievements under his belt as far as innovation is concerned. He might make for a more interesting lesson perhaps....

virtuality

Established Member
Reaction score
I personally don't buy all that publicity that they were/are rivals. In the 90s, MS not only financially bailed Apple out but kept them in business by making MS products compatible with the Macs. If they were eternal enemies, why would MS go into trouble to save Apple?

I guess Gates must have realised monopoly would slow down the take up of technology and he needed someone like Jobs to "rival" him.