Sunhead's Story

Sunhead

Reaction score
Greetings, HairLossTalk.com Support Forum Colleagues!

My user name is Sunhead and I have hairloss.

"Hello, Sunhead!" (a chorus of people online)

"Hello Comrades. I, er, will tell you my story now....

My hairloss journey, like so many other frustrated and concerned follicularly challenged people - began when I was 18. My buddy, friend, racketball partner began making comments like, "Hey, what team do you play for, the New York Hairlines?!"

And then one of my students (yes I am a teacher) said to me, "Hey Mr. Sunhead (not really what he said, but you get the picture), you've got a bald spot!" I started to say, "No I don't, Corey!" but then thought I'd better check it out when I got home from school. Sure enough, with the double mirror thing of holding one while viewing in another thing....there it was. Mocking me, chastising me. Making me forget that WHO I am isn't all about hair, which of course it isn't - for any of us.

However, I realized that I was going to become one of those people who DOES something about it. I did not want this to progress rampantly. The problem was...back when I noticed this, there was not yet minoxidil. So I turned to some scams like "New Generation" and special shampoos like "Energizer" in hopes of restoring my red mane (yes I have red hair....got called "Red" by my PE Teacher)

Of course the most these did was fluff up existing hair (Energizer) or matt it all down (New Generation) and the follicles were no more charged up than the Twins when they played New York this year (Yes, I am also a Twins fan - Go Mauer!)

So...as time went by, and minoxidil was discovered/invented, and along came finasteride, and Dr. Lee and Dr. Proctor and forums like this - I began to communicate with people like JWM and Mike S on another forum - and realized that golden nugget we all need.....I'm not alone in this fight!