Switched from 8% minoxidil to 15% and shedding now.

aussiedavid

Reaction score
I have been using minoxidil and Finasteride for 10 years. I started out at 5% minoxidil and have gradually worked my way up to 8%. Recently I started using 15% minoxidil on the hairline because I have been receeding badly over the past 12 months. I've now been on the 15% minoxidil for 2 months and the receeding of my hairline has gotten a lot worse. It's not old hairs that are falling out, but rather new hairs that had been growing just nicely. I've also added spironolactone Cream and a topical solution of lavendar and clove oil. A few nights a week I spray on Tricomin and I also use Nizoral 2% twice a week. Am I doing too much? Is the higher strength minoxidil causing the shed, even though I've been on 8% for the past 4 years? Could one of the other topicals be causing the shed? I'm not sure whether to continue on my current program in the hope that the shed is a precursor to regrowth, or just go back to my old routine.

tml86

Reaction score
Aussiedave i was reading your comment about switching from 5% mino-has anyone responded?

KielMcK

Experienced Member
Reaction score
I would think the shed is a good thing. When I switched over to foam and spironolactone my hair shed and shed but 4 months later grew back quite a bit. I am still shedding at 6 months but when I look at before and after pics my hairline keeps getting hairs that had not been there before. I would stick with it.

RaginDemon

Reaction score
I agree with Kiel, my hair gets a bit thicker after each shed, but shedding was quite scary from time to time.

pproctor

Established Member
Reaction score
aussiedavid said: