Top 12 Words of Advice from Someone Who is Losing the Battle

bombscience

Reaction score
It you're not going to read then you are missing out. But to summarize: Do your homework, stick with it, and there is more to life than hairloss. Peace.

But please do read.

---

Hey Forum... it's been a while, but I wanted to check in and let you know how things have been. I've been working on slowing my hair loss for 14 months now. Unfortunately, I'm losing the battle. I'm now saving for a hair transplant, which I’m not even sure I want. I've made a lot of mistakes that have hurt my situation, and I though I would share with everyone so hopefully the new guys don’t make the same mistakes. Some of these might sound dumb, but if I could wind back the clock 14 months, I wish someone had told me this. These are MY OPINIONS, but I think that there's a lot of smart stuff in here:

12. Visit a dermatologist and get your prescriptions/samples from him, but research before you use ANY of them. Your hair will not all fall out if you spend two weeks finding out what's best for you!!! Do your homework. My first dermatologist put me on minoxidil with barely any thinning, and I didn't know what it was, or if it was the best treatment. 2 months later when I had research possible treatments, I realized it probably wasn't the best approach.

11. Do not be afraid of Finasteride/Propecia. When a drug has a side effect of sexual dysfunction it can be a little unnerving. However the internet is a breeding ground for misinformation and hype. I sympathize with those who it has affected negatively, but realize for every 2 people that have *any* type of negative reaction, there are 98 who don’t.

10. If you decide to use Propecia or Finasteride. Get a blood test done first. Not only is this a smart move for your general health, but it will also later let you know l how finasteride has affected your body, and will give you a good clue on how well it’s lowering your DHT levels.