Whats more important for Minoxidil, coverage or amount?

Cassin

Reaction score
I have always wanted to know this and have never come across a solid answer. I have been using Minoxidil 5% for about 18 months and I am pretty good at applying it evenly from mid scalp to hairline, I rarely ever use a whole 1 ml anymore. Sometimes I have to use 1ml to get even, complete coverage, but typically those are on applications where I am rushing it. On those apps I typically get run-off drips and waste the extra anyway.

Any thoughts?

/done rambling :)

VoRteX

Established Member
Reaction score
How bout an answer from an old veteran :)

I believe coverage is the most important factor. Whether it takes 1 or 3ml to get total scalp coverage, total coverage is paramount. I know Dr. Lee claims that anything put on the scalp will supposedly disperse through the stratum corneum. However, I dont care what topical you are using, dispersal beyond the coverage area is limited.

I'm a slow diffuser. I only use minoxidil 5% and nizoral. I only use minoxidil once/day in the am. So I have to be sure that when I do an application, I am getting total coverage. Obviously, I cant dip my head in a bucket of minoxidil. I have longish hair on top so I comb my hair back while its still damp and make "cornrows" with the minoxidil dropper from front to back. Then I brush it over my scalp with a plastic nobby brush. Anything that drips down the back covers my vertex which is good. I use my finger to smear any minoxidil dripping down my forhead onto my hairline. I think this method gives me total coverage. I have a big head and I'm able to get this coverage by using about 1.5ml

The actual dosage isnt that important. I mean a given area of your scalp can only absorb so much minoxidil at a certain concentration so if you are using slightly less that 1ml, it should matter as long as you are getting coverage on the intended areas.

juststarting

Established Member
Reaction score