Is having even a menial job better than no job?

Obsidian

Reaction score
The reason I ask is I just graduated from my University almost a week ago today and while I have internship experience and previous employment experience along with a good GPA but as usual trying to find a good starter job in a college town sucks so I have looked to other big cities in my state area. I guess my question is since I am unemployed and my parents give me a budget right now but certain menial jobs (service sector such as food or clothing) are hiring right now. So is it better, in this economy, to take any job offered instead of being picky and waiting for the next best thing?

Keep in my mind I don't expect just because I have a college degree to get in an awesome job with a great position paying me great money. I expect, like my Dad when he graduated, to work to get to where he is today.

HughJass

Reaction score
No.

'Any job is better than no job' is what keeps us enslaved and permanently welded to the corporate teet.

It's basically a way of saying 'give up and stop looking for something better in this of this life, you're never going to be creative, have dreams, big ideas or a happy life, you aren't one of *those* people. Just give up and resign yourself to the inevitable fate of working in this truly sh*t job'

Soul destorying messages like these are vital to sustaining the power structure of the elites- without an endless supply of demoralised people there wouldn't be anyone to work the factories which produce the useless consumer items which help keep us distracted and the elites in positions of power.

Nene

Reaction score
aussieavodart said:
No.

'Any job is better than no job' is what keeps us enslaved.

We gotta eat somehow. I'd rather have a menial job then live off my parents and unemployment checks. Better opportunities will come Obsidian but don't be so quick to rush into a menial job, it can take months to find a job thats right for you.

HughJass

Reaction score