KapHow's Story - (24/ losing hair for 5 years)

KapHow

Reaction score
I'm 24 years old now and have been losing my hair for the past 5 years. I used to have a nice thick head of hair as a teenager and until I was 19 I never thought I would have to worry about it. My dad's head is very thick and he's nearly 60.

I think I'm a fairly attractive guy but lately I can barely even look at myself in the mirror without being disgusted at my hair. Everyone tells me that it's no big deal and just deal with who I am. But I have long hair and I love my long hair and I refuse to cut it short to deal with this. The only reason I would cut my hair much would be in the event I have a hair transplant which I would consider if I had the money. I am an artist and struggling with money as it is.

I feel like women don't look at me the same way because of my hair. Despite my younger face, people have told me before how much older they assume I am because of my hair, which has been going on for years. I've started to use Toppik recently which helps the top of my head but does nothing for my receding hairline.

I'm going in for a consultation with Bosley to see what they suggest. Does anyone know how it works financially? If there is a way to pay in installments or how long and how much would it cost to pay over time. Or any other suggestions for treatments to use? I've been very depressed for the past few months and I'm only feeling worse every day I have to look in the mirror.

photo34y.jpg

SunOfABeach

Reaction score
1. Cut that sh** !!!

2. Before you consider a transplant, get on finasteride and minoxidil and use it for at least a year. The generic stuff is cheap.

Good luck.

Vanzzzz

Established Member
Reaction score
It looks rather far gone. You are a NW5 I think. Meds may help you maintain what you have.

As for hair transplant, I would suggest you search around carefully before deciding on a doctor. Hair transplant is permanent and a bad job will make you feel even worse.