RSR38's Story - ( 38 / Success on BIG 3... 8 Months)

RSR38

Established Member
Reaction score
Well, I am about to turn 39 in a couple days and this is my success story for the "older" crowd. LOL. I am actually not the typical "40" type. I am a Fitness Trainer and have done some fitness modeling in the past. I am very active and have a young at heart approach to life. I had extremely thick hair through my twenties and into my early thirties. About 34-35, I think I first noticed shedding and subtle loss of "weight" of hair and volume. It wasn't noticeable to anyone except me, but I think that was the start. At 36, it was happening, no doubt. Tons of shedding, significant changes going on, but because i started out with WAY above average hair, it was STILL decent enough to keep grown out. By 37, I knew a buzz cut was inevitable. It was going to change me forever. I always thought I would have hair, yet I was rapidly diffusing in a NW5+ pattern.

I Buzzed it soon after and it was a sign that I had surrendered. Now the thing is, I had the same overall hairline as prior to hair loss, but my hair just miniaturized across my head in one or two "waves" of shedding and it kind of looked like I had a "framework" of fine, less pigmented hairs still covering the NW5 area. Under a flash or bright light, it also looked like I was bald on my crown.

Honestly, at my age, it seemed like I should accept the male pattern baldness fate, but in my mind I could not give in just yet. I had been very afraid to use Finasteride or dutasteride because of my occupation and dedication to being in good shape. I was concerned about the reduction of DHT. Nevertheless, I opted to have a chance at hair again. I had no expectations of achieving my twenty-something hair, but I thought maybe if I could just reverse 2-3 years of male pattern baldness, I could be reasonably pleased and it would be decent hair for my age.